FALL 2018 UAB MATH TALENT SEARCH REPORT

The 17-th annual UAB MTS (Math Talent Search) Contest took place on campus on Saturday, October 13, 2018.

Students began arriving at the Business and Engineering Complex at 8:00 a.m. There were 135 students, grades 10, 11, and 12, from 12 schools participating. With coaches and chaperons, we had a crowd of around 150 people. Students and guests were treated to cookies and cold drinks as they waited for the contest to begin.

At 9:00 a.m. students began the two hour test, and their teachers and chaperons enjoyed the hospitality room.

At 11:00, when the test was over, students and teachers were treated to pizza. The UAB math faculty and students began the challenging task of grading and judging the answers of the 135 students. The graders did an excellent job of determining winners. By 1:30pm the outcome of the contest was decided.

The Awards Ceremony began at 1:30pm. Various prizes were presented to winners by Dr A. Blokh and Sourav Bhattacharaya. Schools who won the contest received trophies while the student winners received certificates and books about mathematics.

The following individual prizes for top scores were awarded:

10th grade Individual Winners
1st place: William Holland (ASFA)
2nd place: Clary Lee (Indian Springs)
3rd place: Sam Harrison (Spain Park)
3rd place: Kyle Mince (9th grade) (Grissom)
3rd place: Emma Seidel (ASFA)
3rd place: Duncan Selle (Spain Park)
3rd place: Ria Shah (Hoover)
3rd place: Aetus Sherry (Indian Springs)
3rd place: James Shi (ASFA)
The judges decided to award 7 third places while not awarding 4th places.
School Winners in the 10th grade
1st place - ASFA
2nd place - Spain Park

3rd place - Indian Springs

11th grade Individual Winners

1st place: Jacob Glidewell (ASFA)

2nd place: Runyang Zhang (Indian Springs)

3rd place: Jocelyn Lyn (Indian Springs)

4th place: Alex Laney (Spain Park)

4th place: Nicolas Obregon (Spain Park)

4th place: Eesha Bannerjee (ASFA)

School Winners in the 11th grade

1st place - Indian Springs

2nd place - ASFA

3rd place - Spain Park

12th grade Individual Winners

1st place: Abni Verkateson (Hoover)

1st place: Aiden Yoder (ASFA)

3rd place: Jack Markert (Indian Springs)

3rd place: Sophia Lee (JCIB)

3rd place: Zac Shaw (Spain Park)

4th place: Tianyi Miao (Indian Springs)

School Winners in the 12th grade

1st place - Indian Springs

2nd place - Hoover

3rd place - ASFA

Schools trophies were awarded based on the composite score of the three top scorers.

All in all, it was a full day of activities for student visitors and the UAB Math Department.

Our thanks to the sponsors of this event: Dean Palazzo and our chairman Dr Weikard (who encouraged us and helped us all along in our efforts to run the contest).

Our thanks also to all the students, members of our Department, and members of their families, who helped this year's UAB MTS Contest succeed.

Until UAB MTS 2019,

Best wishes,

Alexander Blokh, Outreach Director